College Resources

GENERAL ADMISSION INFORMATION

College Board at www.collegeboard.org
College Express at http://www.collegexpress.com/
Best Colleges at http://www.bestcolleges.com/
College.gov at www.college.gov
The Common Application at www.commonapp.org
knowhow2go at www.knowhow2go.org
International Baccalaureate at www.ibo.org
Advanced Placement at www.collegeboard.org
College Fairs Online at www.collegeweeklive.com
Collegiate Choice Walking Tours Videos at www.collegiatechoice.com
Campus Tours at www.campustours.com
NACAC National College Fairs at www.nacacnet.orgNational Portfolio Day at www.portfolioday.net  (for visual artists)

COLLEGE DATA

National Center for Education Statistics at http://nces.ed.gov/
College InSight at www. college – insight.org
College Navigator at www.nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator
National Survey of Student Engagement at www.nsse.iub.eduwww.WhatWillTheyLearn.net

www.CollegeResults.org

TESTING INFORMATION

ACT at www.ACT.org
SAT at
 www.Collegeboard.org
Fair Test at
 www.fairtest.org

FREE PRACTICE TESTS AND TEST PREPARATION:
(Check if your high school has purchased an on line test prep program)

ACT Sample Test at www.actstudent.org/sampletest/index.html
SAT College Board Practice Test at www.sat.collegeboard.org/practice/sat-practice-test
Number2 at www.number2.com
4Tests.com
Math video tutorials: www.khanacademy.org
Spark Notes SAT Practice Test at testprep.sparknotes.com/testcenter/newsat
Varsity Tutors: Practice Tests at http://www.varsitytutors.com/practice-tests (Includes, PSAT, ACT, SAT, AP tests, community college Accuplacer practice tests; flashcards and questions of the day.)
PWN the SAT: http://blog.pwnthesat.com/p/math-section.html#.UXXE87Up-So   (This site also offers a math prep book for sale but has many free tips, diagnostic tips.)

ONLINE TEST PREP: Fee based

http://www.eprep.com/
 (video-based tutorials)

www.SmartTrackToolKit.com
  (contact me for code for $50 savings)
www.appelrouthtutoring.com/online
www.revolutionprep.com/online-prep
https://enroll.prepme.com/
http://scoreatthetop.com


FINANCIAL AID RESOURCES

Federal Student Aid at studentaid.ed.gov
FAFSA at www.fafsa.ed.gov
CSS/Financial Aid PROFILE at profileonline.collegeboard.org
College Board at
 www.collegeboard.org
College Goal Sunday at
 www.collegegoalsundayusa.org
Student Fin Aid at
www.NASFAA.org
Fastweb at
 www.fastweb.com
FinAid at
 www.finaid.org

FINANCIAL AID CALCULATORS

College Board at www.collegeboard.org
FinAid Calculators at
 www.finaid.org/calculators
Sallie Mae Affordability Analyzer at
 www.collegeanswer.com/paying
FAFSA4caster at
 studentaid.ed.gov

SCHOLARSHIPS

College Scholarships.org at www.collegescholarships.org
College Board Scholarship Search at
 apps.collegeboard.org/cbsearch_ss/welcome.jsp
FastWeb at
 www.fastweb.com
FinAid’s Major – Specific Resource at
 www.finaid.org/otheraid/majors.phtml
Meritaid at
 www.meritaid.com
Moolahspot at
 moolahspot.com
Peterson’s Award Database at
 www.finaid.org/otheraid/majors.phtml
Scholarships.com at
 www.scholarships.com
Scholarships4students.com at
 www.scholarships4students.com
The Web-based Naviance system features a scholarship search service powered by Sallie Mae.

MINORITY SCHOLARSHIP INFORMATION

200 Free Scholarships for Minorities at www.blackexcel.org/200-Scholarships.html
100 Black Men of American, Inc. at
 www.100blackmen.org
American Indian College Fund at
 www.collegefund.org
Hispanic Scholarship Fund at
 www.hsf.net
LGBT Scholarship Resource at
 www.finaid.org/otheraid/gay.phtml

LGBTQQI STUDENTS

Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resources Center at www.lgbtcampus.org
Campus Climate Index at
 www.campusclimateindex.org

ATHLETICS

NCAA at www.ncaa.org

GAP YEAR

Books:

Before You Go: The Ultimate Guide to Planning Your Gap Year, Tom Griffiths
Gap Year Guidebook 2010, Wendy Bosberry – Scott
The Complete Guide to the Gap Year, Kristin White
Choices for the High School Graduate, Bryna Ferguson
The Gap-Year Advantage, Karl Haigler

Websites:

Americorps at www.americorps.gov
City Year at
 www.cityyear.org
CIEE Gap Year Programs at
 www.ciee.org/hsabroad/gap/index.html
gapyear.com at
 www.gapyear.com
Global Volunteers at
 www.globalvolunteers.org
Global Citizen Year at
 globalcitizenyear.org
Where There Be Dragons at
 www.wheretherebedragons.com

 

Comments are closed.